Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that appearance nowadays helps people to take more advantages in their work. However, while some businesses advise their workers to get elegantly dressed, others attach much more importance to quality of performance than presence. From my respective, these statements are justifiable to a certain extent. In some companies, dressing smartly is obligatory because they believe that it represents whether their employees are orderly or they really respect the company discipline. Moreover, an attractive appearance also makes a good impression on partners or customers. Therefore, it might make a great impact on the development of the business. For example, these organisations such as marketing, services, entertainment will require a good presence as an essential factor when they interview employees because it plays an important role towards public opinion. Meanwhile, some businesses think that appearance is not a necessary element in work. They expect a good quality of performance from their workers because they believe that it is the most important thing which contributes to the success of the company. Also, dressing without deterrence help their employees feel more comfortable so that they can work more effectively. For instance, many organisations such as Google or Facebook allow their employees to wear freely while they demand a professional qualification and a high quality of performance. In conclusion, both appearance and the quality of work are integral and principal. It is advisable for people who interact directly to customers or public to have a better presence while people who work indirectly should have a high quality of performance. From my respective, it depends on the categories of the organisations and what kind of job you are working.