Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

Job competition among people, belonging to different generations have enhanced recently. It leads to increased frustration in youth due to various reasons, therefore, specified age limit should be set for retirement to minimise the stress. This essay will discuss the concerns arisen due to the struggle, and a possible solution for the same with a reasonable example. To initiate, when competing with the older generation to receive employment, young people generally lack the experience, which reduces their chance of getting employed. This is to say that, they lose an opportunity owing to their less knowledge, and makes them undesirable for the employer. Moreover, even if they are selected, still they require to secure their position by constantly demonstrating their efficiency. Another major reason for the frustration in youth due to the competition is, lesser salary as compared to the older ones. Thus, these outcomes of the race for obtaining work results in the frustrated young generation. To exemplify, according to a survey by an organisation, in India, 40% of the employees under the age of 35 suffer anxiety and depression because of stress created by job insecurity. However, when the period of service is fixed to retire a person from any profession, the battle of obtaining a livelihood decrease. In other words, few people will be there competing with youngsters, and ultimately more jobs can be made available for them. Moreover, the fear of losing their career will be diminished, and similarly, their level of frustration can be lessened. For instance, in 2019 in India, the upper age limit for employees in every private and public University was reduced from 65 to 60. This decision was taken to improve the employability of young graduates. To conclude, the race for getting employment, between the older and newer generation can cause resentment in youth. However, fixing the duration of service for older people can solve this issue.