people can leave their views or opinions about certain goods or services they have purchased online. is it a negative or positive development?

It is indeed true that owing to cutting edge technology people usually do online shopping and leave comments after using those products which they bought. In my view, it is a positive practice to some extent as it helps other potential buyers in deciding to buy that particular thing or not. I also believe it is a negative development as fake comments from competitors often deter end-users from buying it. On the one hand, I agree that giving an authentic rating for any products is a positive development to a certain extent. This is because, after using those products or things consumers tend to provide honest insight of it so that other people know more about the goods before making any purchase. This results in end-users being certain to purchase a thing or ignore it. For example, a recent article in the Guardian newspaper reported that 75% of world population prefer online shopping from Amazon. Com which is a trustworthy site where end-users do not post any fake comments after purchasing of any products. On the other hand, I also agree that leaving comments by the competitors is a negative practice to a certain extent. Since people often get discouraged and do not buy a particular thing. To elucidate, due to huge competition, some rivalry often posts untrue or negative comments about the products, which might restrict people from purchasing it. This results in reducing the sales of those products. For example, an article by the Economic Times revealed in May 2020 that Fun Pencil Colour company had to face 10% loss in business owing to dishonest comments by the competitor of Artistic Colour, which prevented the buyers not to buy. In conclusion, although I agree to post views about certain things is a positive practice to a certain extent since it helps the potential buyers to think wheater to purchase a product or not after seeing the reviews, I also believe it is a negative practice to some extent because fake opinion can mislead buyers and restricts them from any purchase.