The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In recent years owning a car in Britain is much easier than in earlier days when only the elite strata of the society owned a vehicle for personal transport. Consequently, not only has this has given rise to the number of vehicles, but also on the carbon-emissions effects they bring along. As a result, many governments all over the world are planning to have policies which curb individual ownership, and rather promote the use of other energy efficient modes of transport. Despite some obvious merits of owning a personal vehicle, I strongly agree and believe that improving a country's public transport system and policies, can help in many ways to control pollution. Firstly, the increased carbon footprint of people using private vehicles, is a concern for many. Furthermore, the increasing pollution levels are the predominant reason for severe respiratory problems. For example, governments that have proactively taken measures to have environmentally friendly policies, rank higher on the air quality index. To illustrate further, the Singapore government has almost 100% tax on possession of a car, therefore leading to lesser number of vehicles on the road. Moreover, this is possible as the government has an extensive network of state-of-the-art metro trains that make commuting on the island much easier for its citizens. Secondly, countries that promote alternative modes of transport have a society that is comparatively fitter and healthier. Not only do commuters who choose to cycle, walk or use public transport are more fit they also contribute to better levels of air quality in the atmosphere. For example, The Netherlands promotes cycling so much so, that they have designated lanes for cyclists. Hence, this helps in keeping the pollution under check at the same time ensures that the citizens have a healthy lifestyle. As a result, many countries have taken a cue from this and have included cycling paths in their urban redevelopment plan. To conclude, I must admit that better policies around individual vehicle ownership are much required. It is imperative that authorities the world over, should take steps to provide their citizens with the last mile connectivity solutions. It will therefore not only help curb the hazardous effect of fossil fuel, but also give the Earth a breath of fresh air.