Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The impact that technology is making in the contemporary education system is remarkable. Television is one of the widely used tools available to the students today. However, critics argue that the conventional learning system of teaching through books can never be superseded by television learning programmes. As a result of which we are having fewer well-educated students. Despite some of the benefits that accompany technology, I completely agree that children should be persuaded to learn from books in the initial years of their studies. To begin with, significant health problems are caused by excessive screen time. Moreover, kids when hunched over screens throwing off harmful light, end up with severe cases of dry eyes. For example, a recent scientific study conducted on kindergarten students revealed that almost 95% of the students, who were exposed to continuous period of screen, not only had a poor eyesight but also suffered from having a bad posture. Furthermore, as children are at an impressionable age, it is imperative that controlled or no usage of TV is implemented in their education. On the other hand, children learning through books are shown to have vastly improvements in their cognitive thinking. In particular, it was found that such students have better imagination skills and display a higher level of creativity. For example, children reading off a story book can imagine the characters and the surroundings in their different and unique ways. However, if taught through a device, this imagination is curbed as the entire story scene is served on a platter. Moreover, all students see the same picture, thus leading to a restricted sense of imaginative power. Hence, learning through books not only helps kids think out of the box, but also contributes a lot more to education than just the curriculum printed in the books. To conclude, I firmly believe and concur that books have a vital importance in the early learning years. It is critical that the teachers and parents alike insist on early teaching methods using books, and introduce technology only during the later years of education.