Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skill should also be the fourth largest branch. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is undeniable that technology makes great strides in our daily life. With excellent functions in manifold aspects, there have been some suggestions that computers should become a major subject too, besides the three core subjects writing, reading and maths. I personally completely agree with this point of view for a number of reasons. To begin with, providing technology skills for students is helping them to approach the biggest source of knowledge in the world, result in better academic performance. For example, with a huge range of knowledge in many areas, students can easily utilize this to assimilate knowledge more proficiently by searching for information on various websites, reading online newspapers, or watching document movies. In order to do that, students will have to be competent in using computers, and the teacher is the person who will guide them into the technology world and provide the essential skills to use the computer in the most effective way. Moreover, we all know the importance of technology in today’s world. Most of the jobs require the fundamental skill of using computers nowadays for a high quality of work. For instance, jobs like designer, accountant, journalist, or even teacher need computer skills. No matter the skills are professional or just basic techniques, people still need to know how to use a computer in order to get a job. This can be explained why computer skills should become a major subject in schools’ curriculum as have a soon approaching, students will have a higher opportunity in reaching their future goals and they will also have more time to ameliorate computer skills if their dream job requires high skills of using the computer. In conclusion, besides the core subjects like writing, reading, and maths, I completely support the idea that computer skills should also become one of the utmost important subjects that students need to pay attention to.