Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

Nowadays, violent activities are on the rise at an alarming rate, and this has a massive impact on our society. Several individuals are trying to scour the root cause of it, and some believe that actions shown on television and movies are the main reason, whereas others think that it is an outcome of unemployment and other social issues. In my opinion, both are responsible for propagating such ideologies among people. In this essay, we shall discuss this topic further. Television and movies have gained a tremendous amount of popularity over the past few decades, and in a way it reaches the human mind. Furthermore, many people idealize such films and characters and try to replicate the fictional scenes into reality. For instance, action scenes on movies broadcasting fighting, shooting or theft as a piece of cake, and most people fail to realise that those works just imaginative, and have taken place in a controlled environment. Additionally, the accessibility of such channels has made it even more difficult to avoid such negativity. On the other hand, some situation is out of people’s control, unlike movies and television which is strictly under viewers discretion. Moreover, social and economic conditions of an individual also lures an individual in the wrong direction. For example, unemployment has led to extreme distress and discomfort among individual and this affects their mental health and ultimately draws them towards criminal activities. In conclusion, the aetiology of such violence cannot be confined to a single opinion, rather it is the combined levels of different events and circumstance.