Schools should teach children the academic subjects which have a close relationship with their future careers, so other subjects like music, arts and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether schools should only teach the academic subjects which have a close relationship with children’s future jobs instead of other unimportant subjects has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the concentration of → the sole focus on academic subjects appears plausible, non-academic subjects play an important role in the children’s well-rounded education. There are a number of reasons why some people support focus on academic subjects. First, if non-academic subjects are eliminated, children will reduce stress in getting a high overall score. In fact, children are often under tremendous pressure because of their parents’ expectation of them scoring highly in academics, so concentration on academic subjects will reduce the tension to study many subjects well at the same time. Second, by focusing on important subjects, children can learn more and be more specialized. This means that children obtain in-depth knowledge, making job opportunities broader. However, advocates of a well-rounded education are also able to come up with even more convincing arguments to justify their opinion. First, although Music, arts and sports are non-academic subjects, they are conducive for the development of a kid’s potential as well as his acquisition of soft skills such as teamwork and presentation. In fact, kids can discover their hidden talents through studying non-academic subjects, which helps them identify the passion and the future career that suits them. Second, in order to restore the mind, unimportant subjects are considered as recreation because the heart and mind could be unwound. This means that those subjects make students relax without thinking during learning, resulting in the refreshment of their minds. In conclusion, non-academic subjects play an important role in a well-rounded education, so complete elimination of them out of the school curriculum is unnecessary. By keeping the non-academic subjects in curriculum, schools provide a well-rounded education for children.