Some peole think the government should focus on improving the economy of the country. Other people think that government should focus on social services such as health and education programs. Which statement do you agree with? Explain and provide examples to support your opinion.

People have many different opinions about how the national authorities should measure their countries’ progress. While I agree with the idea that economic progress is seen as a fundamental goal for governments, I support the other idea that social services like medical care and schooling programs are just as important. On the one hand, I support the idea that economic growth is one of the government’s great ambitions for several reasons. Firstly, economic progress will help the authorities to allocate a larger amount of money to social security. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest many national budgets in the country's education system and hospitals. Secondly, a healthy economy will contribute to a lower unemployment rate and many high-paying jobs for all citizens. Finally, a strong economy can help a country’s standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power. On the other hand, I believe that social services such as health care and education are just as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. To put it another way, a government is created by the taxes from valuable workforces of their country. Therefore, the state has the responsibility to offer them free health care facilities and teaching programs. Additionally, the benefit of improving the medical services and the learning system is that this would produce good citizens. If a country has many well-educated and healthy residents, this will bring considerable benefits to the government, especially the economic prosperity. In conclusion, while I believe that economic growth is one of the Governments’ primary goals, I support the idea that training and health criteria are equally significant.