Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The tuition of higher education has increased for several decades; as a result, choosing a college major has become a life-changing decision for incoming college students. New college students often choose their field of study based on a range of criteria, including personal interests and the popularity of the potential jobs in the market. I mostly align with the view that while choosing the major, students should mainly consider their strength and interests for two reasons; however, I do concede that before making the decision, some students need to also consider the prospect of their jobs in the market First of all, students should choose their college majors based on their preference because if they do so, these students are more likely to stay motivated during their course of study. Because higher education programs are challenging, most students need to push through multiple challenges in their field of study. Lack of motivation is also the main reason for students to drop their college education. Moreover, many unmotivated students also fail to develop the needed self-discipline to be successful in college. Because in most cases, students only get the benefits of a college education when they finish their programs, the motivation for study completion is crucial. Second, the job market tends to be volatile; in other words, a popular field now might not be in-demand ten years from now. For example, before the age of computers, business was generally considered a more lucrative field than computer science. However, with the advance of computer-related technology such as the Internet, the demand for computer scientists has increased; as a result, an average computer scientist is wealthier than an average stock trader. Therefore, choosing a field of study based on the job market is not reliable because the demand for job changes during students’ life. Of course, in some extreme cases, students need to consider the prospect of their field before making a study commitment. For example, a student pursuing an obscure major that is not demanded by any employer, such as professional Lego building will not likely to get a sustainable job in the future. However, I believe that in most cases, students should follow their interests and their strength in deciding their college major.