Children in some parts of the world have less responsibility compared to children in the past. Some people think as a positive change, however, others think of it as a negative. What do you think?

Over the last half centuries, the pace of development in the life of human beings has increased beyond our wildest expectations. This transformation has been driven by the booming breakthroughs in science and technology. Consequently, there are differences in the amount of responsibility children have now and used to have before. It is being suggested that it is a positive switch that now children now have to take less responsibility in some parts of the world than before. However, some individuals consider it as a negative change. This essay will focus on the different perspectives regarding the responsibilities of children and why I believe that children should be accounted with less responsibilities. There are some notable reasons behind my firm conviction. Firstly, childhood is the time when a kid undergoes various physical and mental developments and taking up more responsibilities in proportion to his/her age can hamper the development. Secondly, children should focus more on gathering knowledge rather than taking up responsibilities. Thirdly, being bombarded with responsibilities, a toddler might get distracted and take inappropriate actions to carry out the responsibilities well. For instance, if a baby has the responsibility to help his/her family financially, he/she might end up stealing. On the other hand, strong arguments can be made on the opposite side. Responsibilities help a child to be active, dedicated and hard working. A recent study has shown that, children with priorities to fill up other than going to school tend to have a clear goal toward life. To conclude, it can clearly be seen that, the disadvantages of children having responsibilities eclipsed the advantages. Weighing the pros and cons, I do recommend that, children should take up less responsibilities. Childhood is the most beautiful period of a person’s life and each child should get the opportunity to enjoy it.