In many countries today, people in cities either rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Following the number of people who prefer to live only in one or two generations are increasing, the traditional family formats are demolished. To illustrate my point, I think the trend is a natural phenomenon of changing people's preferences and behaviours, and there are far more benefits to live in a trendy way. Admittedly, I partly agree that extended families have several benefits in that from the perspective of budgets, living with grandparents can be a better way to save living costs. For example, nowadays, the living cost in the urban is alarmingly high, therefore, many married couples choose to work for getting double pay-checks, however, there is a problem that nobody can take a child during the daytime. When it comes to living with grandparents, they will take care of their grandchildren and also will help some chores, consequently, the family can save the money for daycare centres, and housekeeping Services. Additionally, from the perspective of kids, they can learn valuable wisdom or traditional etiquette through a grandfather and mother. Nevertheless, I, as one of the supporters of the view, think that a single-family or family that only lives with young kids is preferred these days. First of all, it is true that capital cities have a lot of entertainment, conveniences, and working places. Young generations a definite like to stay in the centre of the society, on the flip side, older generations are willing to stay in a hometown, usually in a rural area. From the view of them, they will get suffering from high-rated buildings and polluted air in the urban. Hence, it is a natural way that older people and their married children live separately. Another reason worth mentioning is that a change of values, which means people more prioritise individual's life than family life. More specifically, modern citizens are empathizing with the healing which is relaxation time at home, as the result, if a person lives with their larger families, then it is hard to relax and having time to chill alone. In conclusion, through social changes, especially empathising personal values, populations prefer to live alone or living with their young kids. Although there are economic benefits when citizens choose to stay with their parents, modern individuals want to keep their work-life balance and respect the needs of each family member. I personally have a positive aspect of this issue.