Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

It is considered by most people that prohibition of liquor will lead to a reduction in the number of crime cases. In my opinion, I believe that this method will serve as an effective solution to curb crime in our country. However, I also believe that there are other potential solutions also, which can efficiently reduce criminal activities. First of all, one of the reasons that liquor consumption causes most of the criminal cases is because people lose their consciousness when they are drunk. Due to this, they are not able to differentiate between moral and immoral activities. Consequently, this leads to a high number of criminal activities, such as murder, rape, assault. Furthermore, consuming hard drinks have a negative impact on children, particularly for teenagers, who are easily influenced by people. Take, for example, Gujarat, which is known as a dry state, has the least number of criminal cases owing to its ban on alcohol. Therefore, restriction of consumption of alcohol would surely serve as a possible solution to reduce the criminal activities. However, there are some of the other potential solutions, which can help in the reduction of criminal activities. Firstly, the government should encourage and promote education in the economically deprived sector. Also, a sufficient number of blue-collar jobs should be created for the poor sector. If people can get jobs to meet their financial needs, then there will be the lesser illegal activities. Secondly, there should be strict laws by the ministry to regulate the trading of illegal business such as exporting and importing of drugs and weapons. In addition to this, there should be stricter juvenile laws to deter them from committing a heinous misconduct. Hence, these steps may contribute to the reduction of crime in the nation. To conclude, although the ban on alcohol would help in decreasing criminal activities, there are other potential solutions also. If the government takes proactive action by forming stricter laws and regulations, then people can stay away from illegal and criminal activities.