Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. The government must invest this money in public service instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Arts sometimes reflect the heritage of a country and depict the creativity of an individual. These days, the government is spending a huge amount of its budget on public services and a fair number of people believe that financing for the arts is the wastage of funds. However, I agree that public services such as health care and others need more funding, but not at the cost of arts which are still very important, I disagree this argument that spending fortune on the arts is a wastage of funds. Multifarious reasons are associated with investing a significant amount of the country's budget on public services. First and foremost is to improve the health system to ensure the quality of life of the people. Today, myriad diseases are on the rise in terms of popularity, and it would be costly to supply vaccines, medicines, or treatments. For instance, a large proportion of the population is suffering from respiratory diseases or Lung cancer due to the exhaust fumes from the vehicle and gas emission from the industrial factories and the treatment of these diseases is expensive. Many people in the country are unable to afford the treatment of serious illness. Subsequently, the authority should spend some wages on the welfare of the people who live in poverty. For instance, recently America has decided to reduce its contribution to the World Health Organisation and invest this allocation to develop the health system by purchasing modern equipment. On the flip side, investment in the arts is equally important. To begin with, many art agencies struggle with finding additional ways to support art programs during times of recession or budget cuts. Thus, the government can help frame an argument for the importance of the arts in building local and state economies. For example, in a 2013 Otis's report on the creative economy shows that California's creative jobs stem from a wide range of industries, and, together, contributed $155 billion to the state's economy in 2012. To conclude, although, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services as this influences the quality of life nearly all of us, spending money on the arts is not a wastage as this too provides immense benefits for the nation.