In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In the modern tech - world, video surveillance has become commonplace in many cities. While many people argue that using video cameras in public areas is an invasion of privacy, I do believe that the advantages of using this outweigh the disadvantages. There are some reasons why people might disapprove of video monitoring in public areas. First of all, many people think that they are constantly being watched by the authorities and security cameras curtail their individual freedom. In addition, the feeling of being watched is unpleasant, even when the camera may not actually be recording. Secondly, the use of surveillance cameras in public areas is that it costs big money. Since it is not effective enough to deter crimes and theft, why would we spend too much money in it Despite of some drawbacks mentioned above, I believe using security cameras is a good way of providing safety. Using CCTV to monitor public areas is one of the best actions to reduce crime rate and deter criminals. For instance, shoplifters and pickpockets are less likely to operate places where video surveillance is working. Furthermore, video evidence is being recorded in this equipment helps to catch and prosecute offenders and offers valuable support to police officers. By using them, most cities safer for inhabitants, workers and visitors alike. To sum up, having analysed both the merits and demerits, it is evident that security cameras are immensely beneficial for keeping a check on criminals and criminal activity. Thus, the advantages of installing CCTVs definitely outweigh the disadvantages which are rather insignificant.