In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that video surveillance has become increasingly commonplace in many parts of the world. While some people feel that as an invasion of privacy, I believe that we gain more than we lose from enhanced security that CCTV cameras bring to our lives. It is understandable why some individuals disapprove of the use of video cameras for two reasons. The first objection is that these cameras curtail their individual freedom and make them feel uncomfortable in public areas. As a result, it would threaten most people not to do their favourite activities and make them feel shy because of constantly being watched by the authorities and private security firms. Secondly, the proliferation of CCTV cameras would reduce the number of police officers by replacing their place at work. For instance, If it would be the case, most people unlikely feel safe because they believe that the piece of metal cannot secure them by only monitoring. However, in my opinion, it is completely positive development to increase the number of video cameras in public places. If the government installs surveillance cameras in the central parts of the city, where big shops and boutiques located, it would ease to catch petty criminals like shoplifters and pickpockets and prosecute them for crime. For example, criminals are less likely to operate crime where video cameras are working and it makes cities safer for inhabitants, workers and visitors alike. In conclusion, although the increase of CCTV cameras might disappoint some people, it seems to me that it is far more advantageous for both society and individuals. If we increase the