Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches

Education is considered to be a backbone of a child, therefore, it is quite obvious that it plays an immense role in the holistic development of the children. However, there is a debate about their studies after completing the high schooling; some people believe that student should have a gap of one year or more before continuing their study, in order to do some work or travelling, whereas other oppose this argument and are in favour of continuity of education. This essay will discuss both pros and cons of both approaches in the following paragraphs. Multifarious benefits are associated with a year off to work or travel, before enrolling at university for further studies. Firstly, students are being encouraged to get practical exposure (job or travelling) in the field of their interest between secondary and higher education so that they get enough experience before going for higher studies and it allow them to get the thorough knowledge of the course as well, in which they are interested to pursue their career. Moreover, this approach not only help the youngster to become self-dependent, but assists them to attain financial training, and hone their skills in a particular field. For instance, a recent survey shows that the percentage of young people have been increasing steadily who prefer to do a task or visit other nations to explore new thing before admitting into university. On the other hand, the aspects of a job may prove detrimental for the career of an individual. First and foremost reason is that a job might consumes an incredible period of time, which can divert the concentration of the students from their studies. As a result, they consider it as their new stage of life and lack the curiosity of tertiary education. For example, if a student earns a salary of 20,000 rupees per month, and it is enough to meet his expenditure and make savings, consequently, this can prevent him from proceeding ahead of his studies. Hence, a gap of a year or more, along with income may convince a person to continue same in the future. To conclude, although the midterm experience between the school and the university leads them to pursue for the best course, it may result in hindrances towards a goal. Thus, a learning exposure is an essential to follow up their life’s perspective.