College and university students are often asked to do group work. Many complain that this is not fair, but teachers feel that it is very important for people to learn to work in a group. Is group work a waste of student’s time?

Group working is probably a discussed topic among students and teachers in colleges and universities. While many students complain this is a waste of their time, I would argue that group work plays an important role that would help not only for learning in schools but also for working later. Some reasons below will support my view. Firstly, working in a group at school will help students in solving a big subject in which acquiring many aspects of a problem. For example, the teacher gives out a presentation project about “Environment pollutions and Solutions in developing countries”, one student is hard to cover all aspects of collecting data, wording for a present and presenting in front of the class within a short time. This can only be solved in a group where each attendant in charge of one aspect. Secondly, group working will creates a teamwork, skill that stands as a must-have skill in working. Many companies have to open soft-skill courses that training their employees for working skills, especially teamwork skills. Since building a project involve many departments, if an individual does not have the ability to work or contact smoothly with others, the project should not finish on time. Last but not least, group working also motives shy students to join with others in the class. I myself was hard to stand in front of a crowd in expressing something. After joining in AIT presentation skill class and working in a group, it helps me much confidence in my job when I have to interpret my work with my colleagues. In conclusion, while many students complain about wasting the time of group working, I do agree with the teacher’s notion that it is very important for people to learn to work in a group.