More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the advent of technology has changed the way people do their jobs. While some people oppose the culture of working from home, I believe that this is beneficial for both, the employee and the employer. To begin with, the home-based working environment has a great impact on saving costs and time for travelling. This is because the huge strain on transport is because of workers as we see in local trains, buses, and private cars on the roads which often creates a bottleneck, especially in metropolitan cities such as Karachi or Jakarta. Similarly, if employees are not required to travel to their workplace, there will be a reduction in their carbon footprint, which is also helpful in crackdown global warming issues. Another response in this regard is that the employers would save a huge cost on maintaining workplace sites such as the air-conditioning bills or rent which seems to be a major expense in managing such facilities. Furthermore, the individual will have more time to spend with their families leading to a stronger bond among family members. The work/life balance of individuals will hopefully be improved because their leisure- time is more fulfilling. For instance, working parents can monitor their children 24/7 and there will be no need to rely on maids or baby-sitters, and eventually lower the chances that children will go astray. Also, the time -saving feature will be more beneficial for those living in the countryside or the suburbs of the city, as their wastage of time on travelling would be minimal, possibly allowing them to utilize their time for career enhancement. In conclusion, although it seems challenging to change our working lifestyle, we must consider the benefits of home-based working, which is not only beneficial for the population as this will prevent us from leading environmental changes.