SOME PEOPLE FEEL THAT MANUFACTURER and supermarket have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with alot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era, manufacturing and sales of highly decorative and packaged goods have rapidly grown. This trend sparked a debate where proponents believe that manufacturers should take responsibility and reduce the production of heavy packaging of goods whereas others advocate that customers should avoid them. This essay will explore both views and will provide my opinion as well in upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the major concern of huge waste and unnecessary packaging should be stopped at the manufacturing end, though it is quite understood that they are doing it to stay ahead in the market and grow their sales. However, manufacturers should have to be creative and innovative with packaging so it looks elegant but at the same time, it should be minimal and biodegradable. For instance, many of the plastic packets are manufactured in abundant neglecting laws and rules. Moreover, it should be a moral responsibility to avoid it. On the other hand, it is the process of demand and supply chain, people are attracted towards the decorative and bigger packaged items hence, manufacturers produce more such products. For example, a recent survey by the Indian health department shows that canned drinks, bottles and packaged milk sales have grown to 10 billion rupees per year which means huge trash. To avoid and mitigate the problem every customer should also understand the impact of such trash and boycott these products. Once these customers act and understand their responsibility, there will be less garbage and it will protect the environment. To conclude, I would like to assert that, both the views are valid and the manufacturer and customers both are responsible for the issue. As far as my opinion is concerned, it is their combined effort that can protect the environment from such huge waste.