Many local languages today are dying out due to the rise of languages like English. Is this a positive or negative development?

English has become popular throughout the world, thereby threatening the very existence of various local languages. In my opinion, I agree with the above statement and I believe that it depicts a positive effect on the economy. English is a worldwide communication dialect all across the continents for different communities and religions of the people. It has been regarded as a major subject for students in schools, colleges, and universities for understanding and practice of the same every year to improve their fluency and skills. For example, DPS School allows the students to converse only in English because it increases their capacity if practiced daily. Also, the trainees who have excellent skills in communicating in the language can get a job easily in Multinational Companies compared to the local people who don’t know it very well. Thus, it creates opportunities for graduates to increase their worth and contribute to the country. Although, it is argued that less importance is given to local dialects, this is a wrong notation. Some economies provide a chance for people to choose the speech of their preference to learn in colleges besides the native voice and English. For instance, XYZ University provides classes in French and Spanish to persons in their academic studies, which resulted in the learning of other dialects. Moreover, people converse with their mother tongue with their friends, family, relatives, etc. Therefore, it doesn’t mean the mother tongue is forgotten because of its frequent use because it is just introduced as one academic subject for children to keep up with the economic changes. In conclusion, although some may say that local voice is dying out, I believe that its benefits outweigh the effects because of its contribution to economic development and the increment of self-worth of citizens.