Nowadays people are spending more time in workplace and staying away from home for work. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages with your own experience.

These days, a lot of people are devoting most of their time to work rather than family. Although, this trend has a fair amount of benefits for the professional level; however, it has numerous concerns on the personal side. In this essay, I’ll discuss the pros and cons of working overtime. On the one hand, working longer hours accelerates the professional growth. As a result, people who are willing to work for longer hours are more likely to be promoted. Also, they are less likely to be laid off in the event of downsizing. Additionally, the company will deliver projects on time, thus increasing their revenues. Therefore, its employees will get higher salaries. On the other hand, people spending too much time working will come over their personal life. A matter of fact, they will see less their family, which might create a lot of conflicts within the family. This will increase the stress levels of the employees and their family. Thus, it might negatively affect the employee work performance. Another side effect, working long hours will affect the health of the workers. Consequently, they will suffer from chronic diseases such as diabetes and cardiac trouble. This will reduce their productivity by forcing them to take sick leaves. In conclusion, working for long hours might satisfy the employee by getting a higher salary and a promotion. However, this will affect their health and issues within their families. In my opinion, a healthy work-life balance is very critical for the employee.