Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some students in universities aim to learn subjects other than the main ones included in their curriculum. In contrast, others are of the opinion that it has a higher level of importance to dedicate all their time and efforts to studying for a qualification. On the one hand, some are convinced that other subjects might be important for their future career. It can help them to become more erudite, expanding their horizons and being able to support any topic when talking to their potential clients or colleagues. It is part and parcel of many deals and collaborations with their work partners. To illustrate, a lot of businessmen succeed because of their soft skills, the ability to talk to their partners, which entails signing contracts and brings them a lot of money. If they cannot negotiate, they will lose. Others, including me, are of the opinion that it is more important to devote all the time to specialised subjects. To become good professionals, students have to thoroughly learn all the materials which require significant, if not all their time, which means they do not have an opportunity to focus on the material related to different areas. This can pave the way for their progress and success in the future. For example, medical students who have to learn all the functionality of the human body in order to save people’s lives, quite frequently, have to stay up late and do not even have enough time to entertain themselves or relax. Therefore, they cannot be involved in learning any subjects other than medical ones. In conclusion, I take the view that students have to dedicate all their time to learning specialised subjects because it is crucial for their success in the future, and there is not enough time to be distracted by other information.