Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced number of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past, people who wanted to communicate with friends had to send snail mails or meet face-to-face. However, nowadays, people can use many new forms of communication like email, messaging, etc., on social media to interact with their friends without meeting face-to-face. It is assumed that this has had a bad influence on their relationship and social lives. Personally, I partially agree with the assumption. It is true that people spend much time messaging on their phone and do not see their real friends so much. I think people nowadays have to work and study a lot, so they hardly have time to invite their friends to go to a cafe for a chat because it takes a lot of time to go to somewhere and wait for their friends. However, if people spend many hours chatting on their smart phone, it can have bad impacts on their health. In the other words, people can have health-related problems like obesity, nearsightedness, even heart attack,... However, modern ways of communication make people social lives better than in the past. For instance, the weather is rainy and we can not go to see our friends face -to-face. We can make a video call with our friends through Facebook, Zalo,... Anyway, modern forms of contact such as email and messaging are very convenient and time-consuming. In conclusion, I think that modern methods of contact have many good aspects, but they also have some bad effects on our social lives. Anyway, it depends on the users.