The tendency for news reports in the media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individual and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

News reports in the media are willing to report tragedies and crisis situations more than positive developments, which can harm society and to individual. Every news in media like television programs must be a combination of good and bad news, but the human’s intrinsic desire for negative news, and being more potential to attract audience’s attention, hit the headlines more than positive stories. So news editors focus specifically on problems or emergencies such as terrorist attacks or natural disasters. Not only they can raise the public’s awareness to deal with the situation in order to protect them from the potential financial loss and physical injury, but also engage more people along with it. On the other hand, people exposed to too much news about negative news, regarding to psychological consequences, are at a higher risk of mental health problem. A daunting impact on the masses, influence the behaviour of people by losing the sense of security. In this case, it would become difficult to build interpersonal relationships. Accordingly, individual severe depression will increase dramatically, as long as isolation and loneliness have been risen. In conclusion, the new tendency to report catastrophic is unavoidable once they can save people’s lives; however, in long-term, it can hurt communication among society in addition to individual unacceptable behaviour.