Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in c¡whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. TO what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Many people believe that artists should be censored and only allowed to produce books, plays, pictures, sounds, or films that have previously been regulated and accepted by the government. In this essay, I will explain why in my opinion, creative people should make art in a complete state of freedom. The first reason to allow artists to express freely is that it improves our way of thinking and definitely broadens our minds. Being able to listen to tunes from all around the world increases our own creativity and knowledge of the music industry. In like manner, listening to foreign songs can teach us about other musical rhythms, such as salsa and merengue in Colombia or hip hop in the United States of America. Another significant point to bear in mind is that uncensored artistic expression provides the audience with the possibility of thinking critically. Hearing, reading or watching both sides of the same story, therefore, gives accuracy to the facts we see in books and news. For instance, if we only were allowed to read government biased history books, we would never really read the way things actually happened and consequently could not ever understand our past. In conclusion, there are some people that may think that the government should restrict what artists do when they paint, write, film, dance or sing. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that every aspect of life should be done freely, especially when it comes to expressing ideas and feelings. This uncensored flow of artwork enriches our cultural diversity and provides accuracy of historical facts.