Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Evolution in the field of information technology has exerted subtle impacts on how people conduct their lives on a daily basis. Such changes in the way we live with information technology has sparked many heated debates as to the pros and cons on how it affects our individual lives. It is universally acknowledged that technological interventions such as information technology and the access we have to it on our smart phones and laptops has given rise to increased connectivity between loved ones as well as the business world. Thus, making social interactions in society become more transparent and productive, which inevitably reduce the strains on the environment as well as fossil fuels as people will have higher proclivity to remain behind closed doors without the needs of travelling to visit others. On the other hand, it is unfortunate that online information nowadays always constitutes some proportion of untruthful facts, or fake news as it’s been dubbed.. Therefore, without any tools to outsource such inappropriate information, the dangerous spread of misinformation could spread with sometimes harmful or even dangerous consequences. For example, due to being inundated by the doctrine of living for oneself, which is sadly the general mindset among Americans, modern youngsters began to refuse to take other’s plights into their consideration by smoking in public spaces or deny to stay at home in times of worldwide pandemic. In conclusion, it follows quite naturally that the following disadvantages can be easily dealt with through the implication of other technological instruments, which has not yet been invented. Therefore, as a member of modern society, we should be grateful rather than trying to dispense with the things that have kept us connected for all these years.