The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in town and cities closing. do you agree or disagree?

In today's digital world, shopping is one of the main aspects where people can easily access their needs just with their fingertips. The idea of online shopping is widely debated with many people claiming that it will to numerous concerns. In my opinion, this proposition merits serious consideration. There are several arguments behind my stance. The preponderant one is that online shopping vanishes the retailer's role in the supply chain which leads to job loss with a higher rate of unemployment. Not only retailers will be impacted, but the workers who are involved directly or indirectly in the supply chain will also lose their employment. For instance, Giant vendors like Amazon and Alibaba are expanding their business by attracting consumers with low prices, which are eventually reflected as a decrease in the sales number of market shops. Needless to say, all theses concerns make us think about when it comes to online shopping. Another pivotal aspect of the aforementioned premise is that the vast impact on small and medium businesses which are essential for any country's overall growth. The more consumer will buy from websites, the more vendors lose their business. Here is the classic example of the Indian government, which states that the number of small vendors, is reduced when Amazon and Flipkart make their presence in the Indian market. Hence, it is apparent why many are against online shopping. To recapitulate, it is certainly true that online shopping is affordable as a consumer in terms of price and time. However, I believe that it should be controlled by the government up to some extent by imposing legislation that protects market businesses in the long run to avoid any critical impact on the economy.