The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

With the great advancement in technology, sophistication has entered everyone's life in all aspects. One of the greatest inventions to the mankind are the development of transportation, but self- centering a movement into or inward entering cantering ourselves to only one mode of transport is not an ideal balance for the humankind and society. I greatly agree to the point that other forms of transport should also be supported on par with cars. Firstly, the protagonist reason is the surge in the pollution rate because of the rise in the sum of vehicles that makes us look for a replacement source of transportation. As the number of cars grows, the pollution rate also increases. This causes global warming, health ailments such as asthma and lung cancer, that makes the planet an unpleasant place to live. By switching on to the other means of transit such as bus or train, pollution can be controlled. For instance, the pollution created by 100 cars driven by individuals will be very high if those 100 individuals travel by 1 bus or train. Next, with the least figure of people utilizing cars as their basic mode of transportation, the economy of the country can be stabilized as the fuel required will be less. As the requirement for fuel is less, the amount spent on exporting fuel from other countries will lower and this amount can be used for other developments in the country. Finally, if the number of vehicles on the road is less, the traffic rate will also be less. As the traffic percentage is less, the travel time will be low, that gives the riders a smooth and pleasant travel experience. In addition, with the reduced traffic, the sum of accidents will also be decreased. As the number of accidents is less, it gives the passengers as well as the drivers better confidence to drive. In conclusion, with the above mentioned points, I strongly agree that an alternate mode of transport must be advocated, as this will develop the pollution free, stable economy and better driver experience.