Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today's world, it is often seen that companies set minimum standards, searching for suitable applicants to hire after applying for the job. Proponents feel that completing tertiary education is the best way to get a job, whereas opponents strongly believe that developing skills, empathising others and gaining exposure and insights into the working world is more important. After all, both have their merits in impacting one to get a career. Certainly, receiving a good education is critical for an employee to be hired. This is because graduating with a degree displays the knowledge equipped in a person. For instance, doctors are required to read, study and absorb information from books, gaining technical knowledge about treating illnesses and diseases. Without learning about the anatomy at a basic level in university, a doctor would face difficulty understanding the human body in-depth and the causes of sickness. Thus, unable to perform his or her duties. It is undeniably rare to hire a graduate with a diploma certificate to be a practising doctor. Similarly, high-profile paying jobs usually require graduates with a degree, clearly indicating that a university qualification equips students theory necessary for their prospective career. Yet, experiences are valued for interested applicants to be hired by the company. To exemplify, it is frequently observed that teenagers are part-timers in the Food and Beverage sector. Not only is the wage attractive, many wish to gain experience – cashiering, serving, interacting with customers. Through this, it has a positive impact on them as these millennials can handle customer relations and apply the practical instead of the pure theory which is only learnt in university, into their future jobs. Therefore, a university degree might not help a job-seeker as much as an impressive resume filled with various job experiences. Nonetheless, when one is more knowledgeable in his expertise because of the schooling he receives, he will undoubtedly obtain a salary higher than his peers. But, many may argue that developing soft skills are much more valued as it is a character development not learnt in university. For example, to survive in this fast-paced society, one needs to step out of his comfort zone to communicate with a customer or a client living in another part of the globe. Showing good interpersonal skills are hence valued more than academically inclined graduates who are often clueless when they step into the realities of the world. To sum up, in my opinion, I agree that gaining experiences are more critical for an applicant to be in his preferred profession. Indeed, people with adequate experience and skill sets, but without an education cannot promote on higher positions. However, if his attitude towards working is poor and shows no great interest in striving better for the company, he may not set a good impression on his bosses. This results in a poor reflection on his character, conclusively clear that developing soft skills are more vital in real employment practices.