Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate going on amongst people regarding less meat consumption due to the scarcity of land and various other problems. Consuming Less animal fat can reduce this issue if stringent measures are taken. However, few people disagree this due to several other reasons. This essay will discuss the potential measures to reduce meat consumption with relevant supporting examples and in addition it will also discuss the possible after effects of these solutions. To begin with, the government of each country and the UN should take strict policies to minimize the meat products into the consumer market. Actions like allocating limited production permissions can impact the meat outcome and will economically affect the meat industry. As a result, consumption levels can be controlled. However, the possible repercussions of this idea would mainly affect the people whose livelihood are based on animal farming. In 2018 India has succeeded in reducing Beef products in all over the country and as a result of this, the consumption rate has reduced significantly, which is forecasted to be reduced further more in a couple of years. One more important initiative to reduce meat consumption is by creating awareness among the public by showing them the animal brutality in various platforms such as print and paper media. This awareness program can intrude peoples emotions by understanding how animals are being tortured and thereafter the considerable amount of the population will be demotivated further consume meat. Although, it is a good initiative, but the consequences leading to this would affect the downfall of major food chain industries such as KFC, McDonalds and Hungry Jacks. To illustrate it better, PETA has recently conducted an undercover operation on one of the key egg supplier of Walmart, which exposed dangerous facts about animal brutality and as a result, Walmart has lost its reputation and moreover people stopped buying eggs after watching the agony done against hens. To conclude, If the government and the media platforms take required initiatives to ban production, then the future would be better and ultimately can save a plethora of lives and millions of hectares of land.