In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

Nowadays, there has been a sudden increase in the sales of beauty products. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this trend and then describe the possible effects of using these products. In my opinion, the foremost reason for the growth in the market of personal care items is people's preferences. These days, people desire to have white cuticle as compared to darker cuticle. Therefore, they use different kinds of products to change the colour of their face. For example, these cosmetic products are most favourable in Asin because they believe that whiter skin have a higher status than dark skin. Moreover, the another cause behind this trend is that everybody is in the race of some kind of beauty competition. Therefore, people use different methods like plastic surgeries to create western eyelids and lips. The possible effects of this problem include health problems and wastage of resources. First of all, use of too much personal-care products results in harm to our dermis permanently as some products contain steroids or toxins which can severely damage the dermis and other body parts. Secondly, It can be a waste of time and money if we don't restrict the utilization of these products as some of these cosmetic products are expensive and people keep worrying about their dermis that leads to the time wastage. In conclusion, high consumption of beauty products is a big problem that affects our epidermis. It is mainly caused by people's desire to have white skin over darker cuticle and results in severe epidermis problems and loss of money and time.