Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that small companies should not hire females who do not have marrying yet because they would have to pay for pregnancy leave in the future. In my view, I totally disagree with this statement even though there are some clear drawbacks of hiring unmarried female workers. On the one hand, there are several disadvantages associated with accepting unmarried female candidates to the company. One of the main reasons is that the small business may be faced with the loss of revenue and drop in efficiency. For instance, when female workers who are on their maternity leave for a long period of time, not only does the company has to pay the employees but also facing with lesser workforce which could adversely affect the business. This consequence is a cause for concern, especially for small enterprises because they rely on their workers to bring in profit. On the other hand, there are numerous reasons supporting the statement above is wrong. Firstly, the idea of rejecting female candidates who have yet to give birth are absolute wrongful and unethical because all women deserve the same opportunity to pursue their desire career. All candidates should have an equal chance regardless of race, age, religion and marital status. If this remains unsolved, the division of inequality may be created in the society. Secondly, these young women are often fresh graduate thus they are energetic and enthusiastic which can be a valuable asset to the company. They are also cheaper to employ as compared to a more experience and older candidate. Therefore, it is easy to see why this argument has gained support. In conclusion, although there are some cons of employing young female workers, the employees should not underestimate the value of unmarried female because of the many advantages they can bring to the business.