Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool.Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is undeniable that playing video games has been a popular activity among children and teenagers. It is partly thought to be beneficial to their brains. In my view, the negative sides of games will outweigh the positive ones for many reasons. To begin with, children can benefit a lot from playing computer games. One of the main good sides of this is that it can be entertaining. Children can enjoy fantasy worlds on the screen, which is more exciting and safer than on the outside. For example, when playing swords or shooting guns in the real world, there will be a high chance of injury, whereas it is not a problem with virtual worlds. It can boost their imagination and creativity. Moreover, video games can be used as an educational tool; when playing strategy games, players must come up with many ways to overcome a stage, or defeat their opponents. This allows them to use concentration, logical thinking and problem-solving skills, which can be useful in the real world. On the other hand, gaming can have a negative effect on players. One of the reasons is that many children are willing to play video games for hours to finish new quests and keep up with their peers. This can lead to some serious issues; good examples of this would be back pain, caused by sitting in front of the screen for a very long time, and poor school results, as games distract children from studying. Besides, children spend so much time playing computer games that there is no time for them to do outdoor activities, resulting in the increase in the obesity rate. In conclusion, there has been a debate about if video games are entertaining and educational or harmful. Personally, parents should allow children to play video games in a limited time to ensure developing problem-solving skills and not being addicted to it.