You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

We live in a world where social media is the main platform for communication. Every single person has an account in any one of the social media such as Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, or Twitter. Due to this huge development in the connectivity between people, it is rare for anyone to send letters these days. This essay agrees with the statement given in the question and will also state different points explaining about it. Firstly, communication through texts and calls is much easier and faster as compared to sending letters which takes a few days to reach the desired person. For instance, any student working on a project who requires professional help can contact his teacher with just a single tap on his smart phone. Employees working in various branches of an organization can discuss problems and agendas over a call or an email, connected with a networking site. Secondly, there is an argument that elderly people have a tough time understanding the operation of these novel techniques and rather stick to the ancient routine, but I would disagree with this statement, as many senior citizens live with their families and because of the presence of youngsters in the house, they tend to pick up the same trend. Therefore, sending letters is an outdated method and is not much in use. In conclusion, virtual connections are becoming essential in everyday lives and many prefer making friends online rather than getting to know them over a coffee as it is more comfortable and time-saving