Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Numerous people argue that the role of the colleges is to impart the students with several abilities, which are desired in their work life. Others, however, believe that the focus of the institutes needs to be to give necessary information related to the subject only, irrespective of the uncertainty of its demand by the recruiters. I plainly agree with the first given statement, thus this essay will discuss the both given statements and my own viewpoint in detail. Firstly, some set of qualities are essential in the adult life of a person to secure a suitable job. Moreover, just the theoretical understanding is no more sufficient, but other skills are equally imperative, such as critical thinking, problem solving, and multi-tasking abilities. This is to say that the Universities must include certain programs or courses to build the soft skills in their students, so that they can fulfil the criteria required in the workplace. To exemplify, according to a report published by The Hindu newspaper, in 2017 in India, 70% of the IT Industries now carry out the recruitment and selection of their employees on the basis of the communication, social, and other soft skills acquired by the candidates. Hence, it is most important for the educational platforms to provide some training to develop these abilities. On the other hand, if the students are only taught the contents of the syllabus of a course, which may not even be in demand by the employer, then it will not be useful for the young graduates in their career. In other words, this is not the major purpose of the Universities, and they are needed to prepare the children according to the requirements necessary to receive an employment. For instance, in 2016 in India, several colleges started to conduct various personality development programs for their scholars, which benefited thousands of their students to obtain a job. To conclude, the aim of the colleges should be to provide the graduates the knowledge and capabilities, which are demanded by the employers. Moreover, it will be helpful in their career.