Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Learning a language is one of the best opportunities of today. Some people believe the idea that knowing a foreign language just helps you to travel or work in the other countries, while others support that these are not the only reasons why someone should know another language. This essay will discuss both views and include my own opinion. It is true that people who know another language work or travel abroad. Now companies are looking for polyglot employees. So, this is an advantage for the people who do not want to stay in their own country because most of the people working abroad are not happy with the working conditions in their own country. For travelling, people do not need a guide to show what to do, because they already know the language. Learning a language benefits the learner in so many different ways. The studies have proved that people who know another language are more cultured than the people who do not know any other language. The reason for this is that people who learn foreign languages ​​learn the culture automatically while learning the language of the country. A language survey made in Turkey showed that people who know another language are more cultured than the people who do not know one. Also, knowing another language makes the human brain more active, because during the learning process, the brain also multitasks. It means that the brain always translates to your own language so it is a kind of activity that helps your brain be healthier. To sum up, it is not hard to see that travelling to or working in a foreign country are not the only reasons to learn a foreign language. I believe that knowing an extra language will open so many doors, because it becomes a life condition.