Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.

It is sometimes believed that producers and sellers should care about reducing the amount of packaging, while others consider individuals to be responsible for this issue while performing their purchases. I think that demand for certain products is the premise for manufacturers’ actions; therefore, it is primarily the consumers, who should avoid excess packaging, which will give the incentives for the companies and retailers to lessen the number of extra packing materials. One the one hand, supporters of the former position base their opinion on the practical futility of individuals’ actions regarding buying less packaged goods. This is because by using less packaging, consumers factually do not reduce its amount that already had been produced. Thus, tons of unused extra packaging is being disposed of the same as it would have been done if it was sold. Nonetheless, rarely do people realize that consumers determine the behaviour of manufacturers who aim to satisfy their needs. In contrast, there are people who understand the inextricable connection between customers and producers’ actions, believing that changes in business stems from buyers’ decisions. If it were not for the constant meeting and adapting to the demands of the consumers, many successful companies would not reach such remarkable results. Consequently, not only do the consumers command the manufacturers’ innovation direction, but they also may maintain a united front on the issue of lowering the huge amounts of packaging in order to contribute to social well-being in the long run. To conclude, although people may have various opinions, I am strongly convinced that first and foremost customers should stop buying over-wrapped goods, dictating the manufacturers’ and supermarkets’ supply, updated to meet consumers’ needs for less packaging.