Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is true that a number of private cars have been increasing over the three decades in many cities, which causes the problem of traffic congestion in metro cities. I completely agree with this view that dramatically rising number of cars creating world now 'one big traffic jam'. This essay further suggests that, imposing higher tax on car purchasing and providing better public transport facilities by state can tackle this problem. To commence with, people are buying more and more private cars, it is because of the auto-mobile company provides a wide range of models with flexible price. Owner of cars not likely to use public transportation due to the ease of private vehicle. All these make road full of cars and create traffic congestion. Moreover, transit jams not only affects the business, but also residential areas. For example, a business company could get delayed to transport goods, and the traffic creates more noise pollution, which has a huge impact on the mental health of habitats. However, the most viable solution to tackle this issue of traffic jam of private cars is that, the state can increase the price of new cars by imposing a green tax. To support this statement, purchase of cars will affect the public finance and they are less likely to buy one. Furthermore, another practical solution is that, the state should improve public transport. If people find public shipping as an economical and reliable then more and more people use them. For example, the public transportation in Indore is ideal and this resulted in 70% of people use city bus to travel regularly. In conclusion, many modern cities facing problem of traffic congestion due to an increasing number of private cars. However, it can be tackled if the government imposes high carbon tax on purchasing new cars and secondly, in improvement of public transportation.