Governments spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that the government spends too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

Some tend to believe that spending state revenue on special occasions is a waste of money whereas others think the money is well spent. It is true that the government should use the money to organise these advantageous activities, as it can bring increasing income to the country and it promotes local culture. One of the main arguments in favour of this trend is that increasing spending on celebrations can promote local culture. Not only the local citizens can have a better understanding of the festival while organising the events, but also can the foreign travellers experience the culture. Citizens can join and read the descriptions on foam boards decorated by the organisers, so they can know more about the historical background of the place they are living in. On the other hand, travellers can also feel the festive atmosphere and it raises their interest in the country. One's history can be saved and promoted by holding these events. Nevertheless, holding annual events can attract tourist and raise revenue in different sectors. People nowadays enjoy travelling during holidays in order to take a break from their tight schedule. For instance, tourism is one of the major sources of annual income in Hong Kong. Travellers from other countries are fully attracted to the unique environment in Hong Kong and are willing to spend money to have a better experience. They have a tendency to buy souvenirs and live in metropolitan hotels, which it provides Hong Kong a large amount of revenue. In conclusion, it is beneficial to organise and participate in these meaningful activities using government expenses. To fully maximise the potential of this thread, the state has to do heavy advertisement in order to have more visitors.