Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people have views that making harsher penalties is the best solution to decrease traffic accidents, while there are some opponents who argue that there are a variety of methods to achieve the same goal. I believe that it is better to combine all these methods. On the one hand, it can be argued that punishment should be stricter. Those who hold this view consider that strict punishment such as fines, driver-license suspension and even prison sentences can act as a deterrent. For instance, it is very dangerous to turn on a high beam at night, which can interfere with other drivers' sight. Therefore, the ShenZhen Transportation Department has set laws for those who turn on the high beams at night in disregard of others. Once the policeman catches them, they will be forced to sit in front of their car and watch the high beams for half an hour to experience the feelings of others and to understand the hazards of high beams. On the other hand, what others believe is that there are several measures which can increase safety. Firstly, one good method is that drivers must participate in education each year, otherwise their driver's license will be invalid. Secondly, governments should invest money on transportation like widening the roads and setting more signposts to reduce road risks. Thirdly, encouraging safe driving by rewarding drivers is also worth trying. For instance, governments can give tax discounts to those who have not violated traffic rules in the past year. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments about improving road security, but I believe that we should introduce various methods and combine with severe punishment to reduce traffic accidents.