Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, more social-networking apps are invented to foster the communication between people. These online applications allow users from around the globe to interact with each other and has attracted increasing number of users. Some users tend to believe that it is a useful way to meet new friends whereas others disagree. Meeting new friends online is convenient but it might not exactly show the true colours of the others. One of the main arguments in favour of online chat groups is the convenience and efficiency it provides to the users. People are no longer being limited by the location or time of their country and hence, are able to interact with friends on the other side of the globe. If it had not been for the invention of these apps, people might have to travel for 12 hours in order to meet their friends. Nevertheless, users are able to chat with foreigners from different countries. Therefore, they can understand and learn to respect the diversity of culture. However, to a certain extent, it may not be the best option depending on one's safety and truthfulness of others. These applications might be unsafe as people might use fake profile photos and tell lies about their living environment. In contrast, face-to-face interaction allows the person to observe the appearance and habit of others. For instance, when a dinner date is held at a restaurant, the eating habits of an individual will be clearly seen. So, they can develop a deeper understanding of each other and this helps the person to determine whether the him or her is worth knowing. While it seems to be true that these applications. On the grounds that it might be able to enhance communication, the safety problem should not be overlooked. Both face-to-face communication and social media apps can be used if people raise their awareness towards their own personal information.