Cutting down forests is a real environmental threat; yet, this is still happening at a great rate around the world. Why do you think forests are being destroyed? Are there any benefits from the destruction of forests?

It is an undeniable fact that deforestation is occurring on a large scale in the whole world even though it is perilous. I personally opine that forests are being cut down to provide people with more space to live and the destruction of forests does not cause benefits but it leads to various other major issues. To begin with, due to the population explosion, people need more space to live, so they are changing forests into livable places. Everyone needs a house to live in. Moreover, with the advancement in technology, the government wants to provide modern facilities to its citizens for which they are transforming forests into huge malls and hospitals. For example, in the U.S. Almost 40% of the forest area has been changed into the hospital and residential areas. However, there are numerous problems which have been caused due to deforestation. Firstly, in this way we are destroying the natural habitat of the animals. As a result, some animals are on the brink of extinction because they are not getting a suitable environment to fulfil their needs. Secondly, it also leads to an increase in pollution levels. Since trees help in the conversion of gases which are harmful to the environment and purify the air. For instance, a recent survey report revealed that the pollution level has increased by 20% since 2016. In conclusion, although forest are being cleared to provide shelter to people, it has negative impacts on the environment. It is recommended that the government should take the necessary step to control deforestation and to maintain a healthy environment.