in many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. what problems will this cause for individuals and society suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population

It is true that nowadays people in industrialised nations can expect to live longer than ever before. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. As people live longer and the society of developing countries grows older, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that there will obviously be more individuals of retirement age who will be eligible to receive a pension. The proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller, and the government will therefore receive less money in taxes in relation to the size of the society. In other words, an aging populace will mean a greater tax burden of working adults. Further pressures will include a rise in the demand for healthcare, and the fact that young adults will increasingly have to look after their elder relatives. There are several actions that the management could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be to increase the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. Nowadays, people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive working life. A second measure would be for government to encourage immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who pay taxes. Finally, money from national budgets will need to be taken from other areas and spent for vital health care, accommodation and transport facilities for the rising number of senior citizens. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to rise as the society of countries grow older.