Nowadays, more and more people are using consumer goods such as refrigerators and washing machines. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this? Give your own opinion and examples.

People have increased the use of the technological goods like fridges and washing machines. Although these devices provide convenience to the job-goers, still rise in its usage would affect the environment, which makes the disadvantages far outweigh its advantages. Convenience appliances like automatic washing machines and cool storages would help the working people to spend less time on household chores and concentrate more on their professional lives. These appliances can be easily used by children also in the absence of their parents. Moreover, encouraging the use of latest technological devices would help to raise the standard of living of the people. For example, a recent survey reported that the sales of the automatic washers experienced a sharp rise, especially in places like Noida, Gurgaon, and most of the their customers are those people, who are employed. Therefore, people are buying these appliances more. On the other hand, it would have a detrimental impact on the environment as the appliances like refrigerator emit chlorofluorocarbons, which is the biggest source of the greenhouse gases. Increase in its use would lead to increase in global temperature, which would have serious consequences in the future. For example, a recent study has shown that with the introduction of the refrigerators and air conditioners, problems like global warming has intensified, which have resulted in depletion of glaciers. Moreover, over reliance on these appliances would lead to the sedentary lifestyles. Thus, government should restrict its excessive use. To conclude, in my opinion, the disadvantage of climate change, which has been seen from the use of the consumer goods outstrips its advantage.