Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Possession of cars for individuals has been increasing drastically over the last couple of decades around the globe and it leads to one of the predominant unsolvable issue for the authorities today. Unfortunately, this aforementioned statement is the absolute truth and I would like to stress, that we definitely have to change this situation together. Our history has already contained a very deplorable experience of Detroit city from the United States of America. In the XX century, the town became a major auto-industrial centre, gained fame as the "automobile capital of the world" and "the city of motors". Back in the day, this place had a lot of car manufacturers and after a while all residents had several or one car at least. Initially, the urban structure of Detroit was not ready for such an incredible amount of vehicles – they did not have enough parking spaces and the traffic could not provide such a huge strain. Finally, company owners, investors and other significant people began to leave the metropolises, whereas parking lots began to replace theatres, cinemas and other cultural scenes. Detroit ceased to be liveable and eventually went completely bankrupt. What can we do to prevent this trend and not turn other cities into Detroit metropolises? Firstly, governments should draft a law restricting the ownership of cars. Secondly, they should popularize other sorts of transfer and develop a comfortable environment for them, like for instance in Holland, where bicycles have long been the primary transport. Finally, they have to improve vehicle storage systems, street parking places and organise the monitoring system for traffic jams, which already exist in Japan. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize the whole consideration and emergency of this situation everywhere in the world – we can already notice this trend in London, Tokyo, Moscow, Chicago, Los-Angeles and we are able to continue this list indefinitely. In the near future, according to the current course, if we do nothing, then in the near future we will have a new deplorable experience, as has already happened with "automobile capital of the world".