Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Many young people work on a volunteer basis and this can only be beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole. However, I disagree that we all should force teenagers to do unpaid work. Most young people are already under enough pressure with their studies, without being given the added responsibility of working in their spare time. The school is just as demanding as a full-time work, and teachers expect their students to do homework and exam revision on top of attending lessons every day. As young people have free time, we should stimulate them to enjoy it with their friends or spend it doing sport and other leisure activities. They have many years of work ahead of they finish their studies. At the same time, I do not believe that society has anything to gain from obliging young people to do unpaid work. In fact, I would argue that it goes against the values of a free and fair society to force a group of people something against their will. Doing this can only lead to resentment amongst young people, who would feel that they were being used and parents, who would not want to be talked about how to raise their children. Currently, nobody is forced to volunteer, and this is definitely the best system. In conclusion, Teenagers could choice work for free and help others, but in my opinion, we should not make this compulsory.