Many cities have serious problems with traffic congestion? What are the causes of these problems? What are some possible solutions?

In the recent years, increasing traffic jams on the roads, have become a cause of concern for most of the metropolitan cities throughout the world.While poor public transportation services are causing such a grave issue, governments can take effective measures to regulate the excessive vehicles. This essay will examine the reasons of this problem as well as viable solutions to tackle the current situation. To commence with, there are several causes, which are responsible for the enhancement of the automobiles frequency on the concrete paths. However, the major one is that the administration authorities are not paying sufficient attention towards the promotion of efficient services of buses and trains.Since these are not in abundance, therefore a majority of individuals prefer to utilise their own means of travelling in order to avoid any inconvenience. Consequently, the number of four wheelers is enhanced on the highways, which are making the life of general public miserable, as they have to cope up with the excessive traffic. For instance, in the capital city of India, on an average a person spends 2-3 hours per day while travelling on the congested roads. In order to get around this problem, it is quite essential that governments should take suitable measures to promote the use of public amenities, such as buses and trains. This means they should allocate funds to improve the transportation facilities, like an increase in frequency of buses and reduction in the fare prices.Because if these are improved, a vast majority of people will get motivated to take advantage of the latest means of commuting.A prime example of this, in Singapore, the authorities have set up a goal to minimise the gridlocks on highways by 30 percent up to 2025. In conclusion, although it is a concerning issue globally and inadequate modes of travelling should be held responsible for the rising circumstances, appropriate steps at the government level would prevent the condition from getting worse.