You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people say History is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world where every single subject carries its own importance, some people argue that children should concentrate on science and technology rather than on history. On the other hand, some support the value of history in schools. This is mostly because of the difference in perspective of their parents. Parents working in the field of technology know a lot about it and less about other courses due to which they believe that other courses do not hold prime value in the outside world Firstly, subjects like science have always been of more importance since the early days because of its wide scope of career settlements. Parents have always forced their kids to take these subjects because of more job availabilities and high salaries. Engineers and doctors, especially gain humongous respect and recognition in the society rather than a person majoring in subjects such as history or the arts. Society is also a major factor which influences our career choices. On the other hand, subjects such as History are also necessary because it is the basis in the development of various medicines, technology, architecture and many more. Without the knowledge of the discoveries and lifestyle in the ancient years, it is impossible to evolve in various fields. For instance, our know-how about the Harappan and various other civilizations helped us develop our way of living. Ayurveda and Homeopathy helped us treat various infections without any side effects. In conclusion, I believe all subjects are significant for a child’s overall development, and it is upon the child to select his area of interest. If the scope and the success of a career are considered, it is upon the candidate’s capability and luck. Hence, every subject should be taught in schools