Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that students spend a lot of time learning. While some believe that the time spent on practical knowledge is enough, others argue that too much of the students' time is spent on gaining theoretical knowledge. I agree with the latter view and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. First and foremost, not everything that is taught to students has practical benefits in their life. Some subjects are less likely to be used in day to day life. For example, we are not going to use the knowledge that we gained reading history every day. Instead of adding more hours in the curriculum for these subjects, it can be replaced by subjects that has more practical usage like plumbing, carpentry, etc. As a result, students could use their skills to fix everyday problems. Also, even when there are practical lessons, enough time is not spent on them. Due to this, learners struggle to translate what they learnt in their theory into practical purposes. For Instance, more hours are spent for physics in classrooms than in the laboratories. If equal weighting is given to theory and practical syllabuses, students will have a better idea on how to translate the theory into practice.   To recapitulate, because of reasons like students put too much time on subjects that has no practical purpose and even when there are practical classes, students are not spending enough time on it, I agree with people who believes that too much of the students' time is spent on gaining theoretical knowledge.